Skip to content

2015 Catholic Young Writer Award

2015 Catholic Young Writer Award: pupils study CS Lewis on the subject of Christ’s divinity.

The winner of the 2015 Catholic Young Writer Award, sponsored by the Catholic Union Charitable Trust is Joseph Ruane of Ampleforth College.

Second prizewinners are, jointly, Cicely Willis of St Mary’s School, Shaftesbury, and James Sykes of St Edward’s School Cheltenham.

Entrants were invited to analyse and discuss a passage from CS Lewis’ Mere Christianity in which he examines Christ’s claims to divinity.  Joseph Ruane is a VI former at Ampleforth and is a past pupil of Cardinal Heenan High School, Leeds.  His essay exploring the divinity of Christ showed maturity and understanding, and evidence of having studied the Scriptures and the Catechism of the Catholic Church. He wins a £100 cash prize, a collection of books – including Lewis’ Mere Christianity –  and a trophy to be kept for one year. By tradition, the trophy – an engraved shield bearing the names of the various annual winners – is passed on personally from winner to winner each year. Joseph’s trophy will thus be sent to him by Leo Stoy, of St George’s VA College, Southampton, the 2014 Catholic Young Writer.

The Award was initiated some years ago by The Keys, the Catholic Writers’ Guild of England and Wales, and following its growth in scope and popularity is now organised through the Catholic Union of Great Britain.